JP Nadda, the Himachal Pradeshi Rajya Sabha MP, resigns and begins a new journey to Gujarat.

The leader of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), JP Nadda, has unexpectedly tendered his resignation from his seat as the representative of Himachal Pradesh in the Rajya Sabha. During the ‘Vikasit Bharat Modi Ki Guarantee Rath’ where BJP National President JP Nadda spoke to the green-flagged assembly, the Rajya Sabha Chairman accepted his resignation.

JP Nadda

On March 4, JP Nadda, who had been representing Himachal Pradesh in the Upper House of Parliament, tendered his resignation. The Rajya Sabha Chairman, Jagdeep Dhankhar, accepted the resignation. As a result, Nadda’s position has remained empty since March 4th.

The Rajya Sabha issued an official press release stating, “Jagat Prakash Nadda, the elected member representing the state of Himachal Pradesh in the Council of States (Rajya Sabha), has resigned from his seat in the Rajya Sabha, and his resignation has been accepted by the Chairman of the Rajya Sabha effective from March 4, 2024.”

Read Also: Gautam Gambhir Says Goodbye to Politics, But Why?

Among the 57 Rajya Sabha members whose terms were expiring in April, JP Nadda was elected to the Upper House from Gujarat without facing any opposition only a month ago, in February. He will now remain a member of the Rajya Sabha representing Gujarat.

Just before the pivotal 2024 Lok Sabha elections, 41 candidates, including Jagat Prakash Nadda, just won the Rajya Sabha elections without a fight. The party supported his nomination from Gujarat, and he led four BJP candidates to the Upper House with great success. His term as BJP President has been extended till June in the meantime.

Nadda held the position of Central Minister of Health and Family Welfare from 2014 to 2019 before embarking on his current political path. He became the National President of the BJP on January 20, 2020.

BJP won the one Rajya Sabha seat from Himachal Pradesh in the most recent Rajya Sabha elections, in spite of the Congress party’s dominance in the state. After a draw with the same number of votes (34–34), Harsh Mahajan of the BJP defeated Abhishek Manu Singhvi of the Congress.

The hilly state only had 25 lawmakers, but the BJP’s cunning use of cross-voting was crucial to their victory. The decision by JP Nadda to go from Himachal Pradesh to Gujarat has generated political debate and conjecture on the party’s future strategies. It is unclear how he will affect state and federal politics as he sets off on this new path.

Visit Newsynation homepage.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top