Eight MP’S Suspended from Rajya Sabha

Eight MPs were suspended by Rajya Sabha  Chairman Venkaiah Naidu on Monday (September 21) because of their wild behaviour in the house, saying he was “deeply pained” over the house uproar the previous day.

Those who were suspended by chairman are include Trinamool Congress’ Derek O’Brien, Congress’ Rajeev Satav, Aam Aadmi Party’s Sanjay Singh and CPI-M’s KK Ragesh.

Naidu also rejected the Opposition’s no-confidence motion against Deputy Chairman Harivansh Singh following Sunday’s ruckus over farm bills which the House passed with voice vote.

He said the members hurled papers, turned mics away and “physically in danger” Deputy Chairman Harivansh Singh.

Sanjay Singh and Congress member Rajiv Satav were seen uphill onto the Secretary General’s table at the centre of the House. Derek O’Brien move to and fro a rulebook before the Chairperson and some members towed out mics at their places. A few members also destroyed duplicates of the Bills.

The two farm bills, which were pass by the Lok Sabha, will go to the President for his formal approval before becoming laws.

The Disagreement, which lacked the numbers to obstacled the legislation, wanted the farm bills to be sent to a select committee for a examination. They demanded the discussion to be extended. Harivansh Singh, who was in the chair, permitted Union Agriculture Minister Narendra Singh Tomar to carry on his response before voting on the bills.

The row in the Upper House make stronger after the Opposition call for physical voting, but Harivansh Singh declined. Opossition members take part towards the chairman and make an effort to scratch up the rule book. They also strained to grab the Deputy Chairman’s mic. A voice vote took place amid slogan-shouting by MPs.

The Opposition members then sat in protest within the House, stopping the start of the Lok Sabha shift. Nearly 50 members moved a no-trust motion against Harivansh Singh.

“They ruined every rule. That was a historic day. They cut RSTV channel so that our country could not watch all the happenings of parliament. They censored RSTV. We have evidence,” O’Brien tweeted.

During the discussion on the bills, the government said the Farmers’ Produce Trade and Commerce Bill and the Price Assurance and Farm Services Bill will bring major reforms in the agricultural sector.

After the bills’ passage, Prime Minister Modi tweeted: “For decades, the Indian farmer was bound by various constraints and bullied by middlemen. The bills passed by Parliament set free the farmers from such harsh conditions. These bills encourage the efforts to double income of farmers and confirm greater wealth for them.”

Another tweet from him read: “I said it earlier and I say it once again: The System of MSP (Minimum Support Price) will remain. Government procurement will continue. We are here to serve our farmers. The opposition has alleged that the proposed laws will give power in the hands of corporates and farmers will be deprived of a fair price for their produce.


Something Wrong Please Contact to Davsy Admin


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *